Monday, March 13, 2006

 

Learning to drive...

I was forced to drive in inclement weather this past weekend. I've been driving for twenty three years. That's a long time. I've managed to find an excuse for not driving in the snow/ice for all twenty three of those years. So now, my dear husband having had too much to drink, I am forced out not only to drive someone home who could have taken a bus, called a taxi, or stayed over, but to run from the house into the weather to avoid my husband's behaviour!!! The fact that I would rather face the weather than my husband when he's been drinking says a lot, doesn't it? He's not a physically mean drunk, but he's a self-centred one, one that belittles and pokes at the one he's supposed to love the most. Me. Off into the weather I went, white knuckles gripped on the wheel, tires slipping and sliding at their leisure, listening to the "fare" saying how much she hates this weather, and how afraid she is, when she gets home, to walk to her front door, what with how slippery it is out there...No mention that I'm driving on an ice rink to get her safely home, no thank you when we pull up outside her place alive, and without dents. I was then so annoyed with her self-centredness that I need not have gone out into the cold to escape my husband's in the first place. Winter Catch-22. When IS it my turn to drink? When is it my turn to be driven home? When is it my turn to hand over the responsibility reigns??? Did I use up all those rights when I was younger, when I was self-centred??? Maybe I did. But, it'll be a cold day in hell before I go out in weather like again for anyone else!!!

Comments: Post a Comment



<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?